The Key

Last night, I had the privilege to teach a man and his son, but in the end, I think I may be the one who learned the most. Both men had impressive educational and career backgrounds, awesome questions, and two of the most open hearts I’ve ever had the privilege to encounter. As I tried to teach them Heavenly Father’s plan for us, they stopped me. The father said, “This sounds wonderful. I would love to know that these things are true, the way you do. But God’s plan doesn’t mean anything to me until I understand who God is. I shared the following passage from the Introduction to the Book of Mormon:

We invite all men everywhere to read the Book of Mormon, to ponder in their hearts the message it contains, and then to ask God, the Eternal Father, in the name of Christ if the book is true. Those who pursue this course and ask in faith will gain a testimony of its truth and divinity by the power of the Holy Ghost. (See Moroni 10:3–5.)
Those who gain this divine witness from the Holy Spirit will also come to know by the same power that Jesus Christ is the Savior of the world, that Joseph Smith is his revelator and prophet in these last days, and that The Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-day Saints is the Lord’s kingdom once again established on the earth, preparatory to the second coming of the Messiah.

I invited him to try this experiment, to find out for himself, to see if God would keep His promise and give him an answer. The man was very pleased with my suggestion. He kept saying, “This experiment is the key!”

I add my testimony to his, that this experiment truly IS the key. It’s the key to everything. If we have enough faith to ask God if He is there, if the Book of Mormon is truly His word, and if His church truly has been restored to the earth, He will give us an answer. He has promised that He would. And once He does, the only place left to go is up 🙂

 

2 responses to “The Key

  1. I add my testimony of this principle, too. When I just wanted to be ‘taught’ by the missionaries, I never gained a witness of the truth of the gospel. Only when I took the initiative to really seek the truth for myself did I receive a testimony of the truthfulness of the restored gospel of Jesus Christ.

  2. When I was seeking answers, I prayed and told God that my heart was open to Jesus if he was the Redeemer and Savior…I said I wasn’t sure but I wanted to believe and was ready to turn my life over to Him if he existed. Jesus came into my heart and soon I was lead to the Church. Today I try to remember to pray every day to ask God to let me see and experience the world as HE would have me experience it, to help me be the person HE would have me be, and understand things the way He would have me. I tell Him that I am ready and willing to be changed into anything He wants me to be. Those are always better days!

Leave a Reply

