Leap of Faith

Elder Richard G. Scott said: “I found that I could learn gospel teachings intellectually and, through the power of reason and analysis, recognize that they were of significant value. But their enormous power and ability to stretch me beyond the limits of my imagination and capacity did not become reality until patient, consistent practice allowed the Holy Spirit to distill and expand their meaning in my heart. I found that while I was sincerely serving others, God forged my personal character. He engendered a growing capacity to recognize the direction of the Spirit. The genius of the gospel plan is that by doing those things the Lord counsels us to do, we are given every understanding and every capacity necessary to provide peace and rich fulfillment in this life. Likewise, we gain the preparation necessary for eternal happiness in the presence of the Lord.”

I know that as I live the commandments one day at a time that Heavenly Father is turning me into the Jayci He intends me to be, because I can feel my testimony growing stronger one day at a time. I don’t understand everything yet, but luckily He has given us a really simple place to start from: Live the commandments in faith, day by day, and He will bless us with the understanding we need to take the next step. That’s what they mean when they say walk by faith… Take the step we’ve been given, and trust that God will reveal the next one. He will, one step at a time!

One response to “Leap of Faith

  1. I’m leaving on a mission soon, and it makes me feel so much better to have a starting place. I feel so overwhelmed sometimes, like I have to know everything to start with, so it’s really nice and reassuring to know that even an Apostle and a missionary have to start with little understanding and work up from there. Thanks, Sister Barrus.

Leave a Reply

