Who are you, REALLY, in there?

“Each of you is unique. You are different from each other in many ways… Such differences are almost endless. Do these differences tempt us to judge one another? Mother Teresa, a Catholic nun who worked among the poor in India most of her life, spoke this profound truth:

“If you judge people, you have no time to love them.”

The Savior has admonished, “This is my commandment, That ye love one another, as I have loved you.” I ask: Can we love one another, as the Savior has commanded, if we judge each other? And I answer—with Mother Teresa—“No; we cannot.” –President Thomas S. Monson

I am so grateful for my mission companion, Sister Sultanian. She sees me 24 hours a day, 7 days a week, for better or for worse. (Sound familiar?) She listens to me complain and she knows what I get excited about, she sees my strengths and she watches me learn through my weaknesses. Through it all, she is patient, and kind, and forgiving! She calmly listens while I talk her ear off, then she lovingly encourages me to keep trying and have faith in Heavenly Father, and she usually makes me laugh to top it off!

If only we all had someone who was literally assigned to be like Christ and put up with us in this way!

The thing is, we are ALL assigned to be like Christ and not only put up with each other, but love each other unconditionally. This assignment comes from the top, and He is one level of authority we don’t need to question. Heavenly Father knows exactly what we need and how we can help others, and He puts people in our path accordingly. If we’re busy being distracted by their outward appearances, we might be missing opportunities left and right to help them magnify their inner strengths… And to allow them to help us with ours 🙂

We’re really all just Angels in People Costumes, sent to earth with a very specific purpose, regardless what we’re disguised as.

One response to “Who are you, REALLY, in there?

  1. This sounds exactly like my wife and I 🙂 she’s so patient and loving, and is always there for me no matter what. Even when we’re apart, I can feel her there in my heart cheering me on!

Leave a Reply

