The Bravest Knight of All

My companion and I were reminiscing the other night about the stories our fathers used to tell us. Some of them were stories from their childhoods, some of them  characterized heroic traits they’d always wished they had- but as their little girls, we were sure they really DID have super powers- and some were stories that taught us lessons.

Our Father in Heaven has shared some remarkable stories with us, too. One of my favorites has all of the necessary elements to a good adventure story: A brave, selfless hero; a nasty antagonist; a cause for the greater good…

Satan… came before me, saying—Behold, here am I, send me, I will be thy son, and I will redeem all mankind, that one soul shall not be lost, and surely I will do it; wherefore give me thine honor.  2 But, behold, my Beloved Son, which was my Beloved and Chosen from the beginning, said unto me—Father, thy will be done, and the glory be thine forever. 3 Wherefore, because that Satan rebelled against me, and sought to destroy the agency of man, which I, the Lord God, had given him, and also, that I should give unto him mine own power; by the power of mine Only Begotten, I caused that he should be cast down; 4 And he became Satan, yea, even the devil, the father of all lies, to deceive and to blind men, and to lead them captive at his will, even as many as would not hearken unto my voice. (Moses 4)

You might notice that Satan presents his own plan, but our Savior just says, ‘thy will be done’- implying that Heavenly Father had already laid out His divine Plan of Happiness for us, and that our big brother knew exactly what He was volunteering for. I can just imagine Him taking a deep breath, lifting His chin, squaring his shoulders, and volunteering on behalf of all of us- in the most heroic act of all time. Superheroes and knights in shining armor will always be fun and exciting to hear about, but nothing can compare to the example, the strength of character and love of my Savior, Jesus Christ.

One response to “The Bravest Knight of All

  1. Such a marvelous example for us to follow. I’d never thought of it quite like this–I like it! Very inspiring.

Leave a Reply

