A Pearl of Great Price

Again, the kingdom of heaven is like unto treasure hid in a field; the which when a man hath found, he hideth, and for joy thereof goeth and selleth all that he hath, and buyeth that field. Again, the kingdom of heaven is like unto a merchant man, seeking goodly pearls: Who, when he had found one pearl of great price, went and sold all that he had, and bought it. (Matthew 13:44-46)

When we find the kingdom of heaven, and finally comprehend it’s worth, we’ll give up everything in order to get it. Notice that there isn’t a specific price- each man simply gave ALL. So anyone could have enough to afford this treasure, as long as he was willing to give everything else he had ever acquired.

For me, it’s pretty easy to give up physical possessions; what’s harder is giving up my character flaws and habits and desires. For some, it might be prior knowledge or pride. Our loved ones might be the hardest thing to let go of… Those who are dear to us who haven’t recognized the how truly priceless the kingdom of heaven really is.

Whatever it is, once we find the desire within us to seek our Savior, we have to

really fight for it. I honestly wish it WAS as easy as selling all of my physical possessions! I’ve been desperately begging Heavenly Father to take my heartand change it into what He wants it to be since the beginning of my mission. I’ve gotten similar answers all along as I’ve prayed for guidance… Pretty much to be patient and keep doing what He’s asked me to. If you know me, you know patience is NOT my strongest virtue.

I’m more inclined to ask for a solution, and expect it to be something I can execute and immediately see the results. I’ve never in my life anguished like I have been as I’ve asked Heavenly Father to stretch me. I think I’m finally starting to see my heart change. I know I’m not all the way there yet, but I’m grateful that Heavenly Father has given me a glimpse of the progress so that I know I’m not wrestling in vain!

I’m still working on giving all, letting go of every last thing that could keep me from Him, but trust me… I’ve given enough so far to know that it really doesn’t work to give Him some or even most… We must give all that we have.

One response to “A Pearl of Great Price

  1. Yes, giving Him OUR WILL is the hardest thing! ‘Not my will, but Thine be done’ But if we give Him our all, He gives us ‘all my Father hath’…which is the greater gift? Our whole life is a process, find joy in each step of the way! Thanks for your honest and humble example, Sister Barrus.

Leave a comment