Believing Bread

After Christ fed five thousand people with just five loaves of bread and two fishes, they followed after Him, and asked Him to perform more miracles, and teach them how to do such things.

John 6:26 Jesus answered them and said, Verily, verily, I say unto you, Ye seek me, anot because ye saw the miracles, but because ye did eat of the loaves, and were filled.

Although this multitude of people had witnessed a major miracle, they didn’t recognize the divinity of it. They were just happy that He fed them. So they enjoyed the physical blessing that He offered, but completely missed the spiritual blessing, which was far greater. So He taught them:

John 6:35 And Jesus said unto them, I am the abread of life: he that cometh to me shall never hunger; and he that believeth on me shall never bthirst. 36 But I said unto you, That ye also have seen me, and believe not. 40 And this is the will of him that sent me, that every one which seeth the Son, and abelieveth on him, may have beverlasting life: and I will raise him up cat the last day.

48 I am that bread of life.

So many people these days say that they would believe in God if He would just give them a sign. But so many people were able to witness miracles, and they still missed the point.

I was thinking about this, and I realized that it’s because the only way we can come to know our Savior is FAITH in Him. We can see Him, we can logically believe that He lived and that He taught what He did, and we can even share His teachings as a nice way to live life. However, the only way to truly come to Him is to BELIEVE that He is the Son of God, BELIEVE that His sacrifice works for us, and BELIEVE that we can be saved by partaking of the Bread of Life.

Leave a Reply

