So Jayci can learn something about Jayci

Last night, I was feeling a little weighed down with some more changes Heavenly Father has been asking me to make lately. I know I need to make them if I’m ever going to become what He has in mind for me, but that doesn’t make them any easier. As usual, He had an answer for me, when I randomly picked up a talk about the Law of Sacrifice (Read This Talk!)

“The law of sacrifice provides an opportunity for us to prove to the Lord that we love Him more than any other thing. As a result, the course sometimes becomes difficult since this is the process of perfection that prepares us for the celestial kingdom to “dwell in the presence of God and his Christ forever and ever” (D&C 76:62)… We must know what we do is pleasing before God and understand that this knowledge comes to us through sacrifice and obedience. Those who come unto Christ in this way receive a confidence that whispers peace to their souls and that will eventually enable them to lay hold upon eternal life.” -Elder M. Russell Ballard

What’s interesting is that while some of the sacrifices I’ve been making lately are so hard on my heart, and on my mortal self, my spirit has never been so at peace. It’s a dichotomy that’s really quite unnerving, but as I read this talk, I realized that it’s only natural. Sure, these things might be hard, but it’ll all be okay in the end.

A story that came to my mind as I was thinking about sacrifice was that of Abraham and Isaac. Abraham was asked to literally offer his son, Isaac, as a physical sacrifice. President Hugh B. Brown was once asked why Abraham would be asked to do such a terrible thing, especially knowing that, in the end, he was allowed to keep his son. “It was clear that [President Brown], nearly ninety, had thought and prayed and wept over that question before. He finally said, ‘Abraham needed to learn something about Abraham’”

When we face our trials head on, we allow Heavenly Father to teach us things about ourselves that we might never discover otherwise. We allow Him to mold us and direct us in His loving way. I know this has been kind of a running theme on this blog, but I learn something new every day, and I hope that by sharing these things, I’m helping some of you!

Leave a Reply

