because He said so

This morning, I was studying about patience, and one of the themes of this topic is to have patience with the Lord and with His timing.

“Often when we pray for help with a significant matter, Heavenly Father will give us gentle promptings that require us to think, exercise faith, work, at times struggle, then act. It is a step-by-step process that enables us to discern inspired answers.

I have discovered that what sometimes seems an impenetrable barrier to communication is a giant step to be taken in trust. Seldom will you receive a complete response all at once. It will come a piece at a time, in packets, so that you will grow in capacity. As each piece is followed in faith, you will be led to other portions until you have the whole answer. That pattern requires you to exercise faith in our Father’s capacity to respond. While sometimes it’s very hard, it results in significant personal growth.” –Elder Richard G. Scott

While we are occasionally asked to take a “leap of faith”, more often than not, Heavenly Father just wants us to take one little step of faith at a time. Trust is one of the hardest things for me to wrap my head around. For whatever reason, I came to this life bound and determined to depend on myself, and no one else! So for me, it’s really hard to trust Heavenly Father and take the steps that He asks me to, without knowing what might come next.

The beauty of prayer as an open line of communication is that while we might have to wait for the next direction, we never have to wait for that quiet assurance that we’re on the right path. I’ve learned that I can trust my Heavenly Father, and when I do, His plan is better than mine- ten times out of ten!

Leave a Reply

