I think I want to know…I think.

There is a difference between knowing and believing. Although the scriptures focus mostly on faith, it seems logical to me that my ultimate goal should be knowing the truths of the gospel to be true. I’ve been thinking about this a lot lately, and searching the scriptures to find out how I can know.

Romans 8:25 But if we hope for that we see not, then do we with patience wait for it. 26 Likewise the Spirit also ahelpeth our infirmities: for we know not what we should bpray for.

What I’m realizing is that, as usual, there is a progression involved on the way to knowing. If we aren’t prepared for the knowledge we receive, it won’t do us any good. Also, with knowledge must come a much higher level of accountability.

So, I really want to know, but it’s my responsibility to be ready for it. I need to be sure that my faith and hope are SO strong, that they’ll be able to serve as a solid foundation to support my knowledge when I get it. And since I’ll be more accountable, I want to be super sure that I know exactly what I’m accountable for!

How does one accomplish such a goal? By keeping the commandments, studying the scriptures, and praying. All the time. So that little by little, we’ll be ready for the next step 🙂

One response to “I think I want to know…I think.

  1. As I leave on my mission, I will take these thoughts with me. I’ll miss your blog! I plan to be EXACTINGLY obedient in literally every way I can so that I’ll have no regrets and so I can serve the Lord to best of my ability for His Glory. I can’t wait to get started and lose myself completely. I know the Lord will provide for my safety and spiritual comfort. Thanks for everything you’ve taught me 🙂 D&C 6:36!

Leave a Reply

