Essay Evaluation

I had to write about a setback in my life, how I handled it, and what I learned from it for my application to BYU-Idaho. I thought it might be worth sharing 🙂

I was recently assigned a new mission companion. She had previously served at Temple Square, and I had been serving at the church historic sites in Palmyra, New York. Together, we would go to a new area and work as full proselyting missionaries for the first time in either of our missions. Although the initial days of this daunting task were somewhat overwhelming, things seemed to be going smoothly. However, it soon became apparent that our companionship was sinking. As we worked to improve our relationship, I became increasingly discouraged. It felt like we had tried everything, but to no avail. Each solution produced short lived harmony, without permanent success.

Eventually, we realized that while we had prayed a lot, we hadn’t sincerely asked God, together, for His advice. We had finally been humbled until we were willing to do anything for His guidance. What followed was a very powerful experience in prayer. As soon as we invited Him, Heavenly Father began to knit our hearts together in a way that had previously proved to be impossible. I learned that although the world has many counselors, if we ask Heavenly Father first, His “soft answer turneth away wrath” (Proverbs 15:1).

One response to “Essay Evaluation

  1. Sheldon De Vries

    Sorry if this is weird, but i saw you on mormon.org and followed your blog. I’m a missonary too Serving in the Colorado Denver North mission. I had a missionary companion that was really hard to get along with too. We were together for 3 transfers, it was the hardest time of my life. But, unfortunatly we didn’t think of the same thing as you and your companion did, we didn’t ask god for help. Thats an awesome testimony builder. We have since made up and are friends now, but it would have been so much easier to ask for gods help. Good luck on your mission sister! feel free to look me up on mormon.org.

Leave a Reply

