Good Morning, Sunshine!

Many of you know that as missionaries, one of our guidelines is to get up by 6:30 every morning. 6:30 really isn’t that early, especially considering we go to bed by 10:30. Over the past nine months of my mission, it really hasn’t been very difficult for me. Over the past few weeks, however, I’ve noticed an increasing number of mornings when I didn’t jump out of bed quite as enthusiastically as I used to!

So on Sunday, I was trying to think of ways I could improve, and I promised Heavenly Father that I would never, ever be in bed past 6:30 for the rest of my mission! And of course, I’ve never, ever had such a hard time getting out of bed as I have this week. Just for the record, “hard to get out of bed” for me rarely entails more than 15 or 20 minutes, but it’s the principle of the matter. It’s uncanny how, as soon as you commit to do better, Satan goes for it with at least as much fervor as you do!

“Of a prominent early investigator of the restored Church, who covenanted that he would obey any command that the Lord would give him, it was said, “And he received the word with gladness, but straightway Satan tempted him; … and the cares of the world caused him to reject the word” (D&C 40:2). “( Donald L. Hallstrom , Do It Now)

It’s so important that we don’t give up, that we don’t give in to Satan’s temptations as we work to improve ourselves. With Heavenly Father on our side, we will always be able to beat Satan, and in the meantime we’ll grow a lot. I promise not to give up on my quest for early morning perk!

D&C 58:26 For behold, it is not meet that I should command in all things; for he that is acompelled in all things, the same is a bslothfuland not a wise servant; wherefore he receiveth no reward. 27 Verily I say, men should be aanxiously engaged in a good cause, and do many things of their own free will, and bring to pass much righteousness.

Leave a Reply

