But… I thought you said…

Over the course of the past few months, I’ve been developing my ability to follow the Spirit in the work that I do. You may recall reading about some of the growth I’ve been going through in Who is That Angel on Your Shoulder or because he said so. Recently, I had a unique experience that made me seriously question my ability to recognize the Spirit and His promptings. I felt really confident that I HAD followed a prompting, but the result was rather unexpected, and I was pretty shaken. As I asked my Heavenly Father for understanding, for the peace of mind in knowing I had followed Him, I came to this scripture:

Ecclesiastes 11:1 Cast thy bread upon the waters: for thou shalt find it after many days.

5 As thou knowest not what is the way of the spirit, nor how the bones do grow in the womb of her that is with child: even so thou knowest not the works of God who maketh all.

6 In the morning sow thy seed, and in the evening withhold not thine hand: for thou knowest not whether shall prosper, either this or that, or whether they both shall be alike good.

Although it took me a little while to be confident with this answer, I was immediately comforted. My responsibility, as a missionary, but also as a daughter of God, is to learn to receive and act on revelation, and then trust Heavenly Father. Once I’ve acted (cast my bread upon the water, or sowed the seed), I just have to be patient in waiting for the seed to prosper or the bread to return, so to speak.

We may not know the ways of the Spirit, but we must decide whether we’re going to trust Him or not. And once we’ve decided to trust Him, we can further build that relationship by showing Him that we trust Him, by acting on what He asks us to do- whether we understand the purpose of it, or not.

One response to “But… I thought you said…

  1. I’ve been working on this too, and it is especially hard for me to have confidence that I am acting on a prompting and not just on a thought in my mind. But, I find that as I go forward in faith, doing the best I can, it gets easier than I ever thought possible!

Leave a Reply

